care

Communities Engagement Team

"God so loved the world" - this means the whole created order and all humankind.

The Church is called in service to communities as the embodiment of the mission of God to the world. Christians bring our passion to the world, not just to churches, working to make the world and local communities more accepting and healthier places, in accordance with God's love. This was the world that Jesus entered, and Christians are called to be engaged in it.

What we do

We provide resources, information, advice and advocacy to the Diocese of Guildford's deaneries and parishes, in order to:

  • Assist parishes to engage effectively with their local communities
  • Access accurate and relevant information for partnerships
  • Better understand some of the things that unjustly marginalise people locally 
  • Offer training so that thinking is informed and actions reflect our values
  • Access resources, including funding and practical support where possible
  • Ensure responses are well managed and sustainable
  • Work to ensure churches are kept up-to-date and everyone is informed of what churches do

For a brief overview of our services and the contact for each one, see the documents on the left and the who's who list below.

We are always happy to receive enquiries about our work and how you can become involved.

Communities Engagement Team

Diocesan House, Quarry Street, Guildford GU1 3XG

Tel: 01483 790324
E: cet@cofeguildford.org.uk

JoCookes Jo Cookes

Director of Communities Engagement Team

jo.cookes@cofeguildford.org.uk

01483 790330

EmmaBeswickWeb Emma Beswick

PA to the Director & Team Co-ordinator

emma.beswick@cofeguildford.org.uk

01483 790324

TonyOakdenWeb Tony Oakden

Church and Community Adviser

tony.oakden@cofeguildford.org.uk

01483 790325

Suzette1 Suzette Jones MSc RNLD

Health & Wellbeing Adviser

suzette.jones@cofeguildford.org.uk

01483 790335

TraceyWadeWeb Tracey Wade

Sensory Inclusion Adviser

tracey.wade@cofeguildford.org.uk

01483 790327

Kauser1 Kauser Akhtar
more

Surrey Faith Links Adviser

kauser.akhtar@cofeguildford.org.uk

01483 790334

LizMartin Liz Martin

Bridges Youth Project Coordinator

liz.martin@cofeguildford.org.uk

07805 401 762

RachelGuilford1 Rachel Guilford
more

Neighbourhood Angels Project - Guildford

rachel.guilford@cofeguildford.org.uk

07796 098077

img_nigel_drury Nigel Drury

Community Connector (Spelthorne)

n.drury@spelthorne.gov.uk

07979 887467

Vacancy - Community Connector Mole Valley Vacancy - Community Connector Mole Valley

Community Connector

NicolaBassaniWeb Nicola Bassani

Community Connector (Guildford)

nicola.bassani@cofeguildford.org.uk

07721 040266

Warnke1 Jon Warnke

Faiths Major Incident Co-ordinator

jon.warnke@cofeguildford.org.uk

Clive 1 Revd Clive Richardson

Carer Support Adviser

clive.richardson@cofeguildford.org.uk

01483 790330 / 07990 956392

Lesley Crawley Revd Lesley Crawley

Diocesan Environment Adviser

Lesley.Crawley@cofeguildford.org.uk

01252 820537