mw__1276511479_News_Image - letterbox crop

Diocesan Mission & Pastoral Committee 2015

Parish reorganisations continue apace

AR 2015 Pastoral Committee picDuring 2015 the Diocesan Mission & Pastoral Committee agreed new suspensions of presentation for East Molesey and Walton-on-the-Hill.

The committee have also recommended suspensions lifted where it was agreed that no further pastoral re-organisation was needed.  These included Thorpe, Pirbright, New Haw, West Byfleet and Haslemere & Grayswood.

Pastoral schemes recommended to the Bishop by the Committee during the year were:

  • East Horsley & Ockham with Hatchford and Downside, and West Horsley – the dissolution of the benefice of East Horsley & Ockham with Hatchford and Downside, and the creation of a group ministry with the two new parishes and West Horsley.The scheme came into effect on 1 October.
  • Guildford Christ Church with St Martha-on-the-Hill and Shere, Albury & Chilworth – the moving St Martha-on-the-Hill out of the benefice of Guildford Christ Church to become a united parish with Chilworth.
  • Alfold and Loxwood – a scheme to create a united parish, which came into effect on 1 September.
  • Rowledge and Frensham – a scheme to separate the two parishes.
  • Egham St John – the transfer of part of the churchyard to the PCC.
  • Woodham – proposals to create a separate parish of Sheerwater were withdrawn.Consultation took place on proposals for a Bishop’s Mission Order and this is ongoing.

Wendy Harris

Secretary, Diocesan Mission & Pastoral Committee


SAFEGUARDING The Diocese does not tolerate abuse of any kind. Enquiries
YOUR DATA PRIVACY View the diocesan general privacy notice and data protection policy.

“The kingdom of heaven is like a mustard seed that someone took and sowed in his field;

it is the smallest of all the seeds, but when it has grown it is the greatest of shrubs and becomes a tree, so that the birds of the air come and make nests in its branches.”

Matthew 13:31

© Copyright Diocese of Guildford 2014 – All rights reserved.