mw__1276511479_News_Image - letterbox crop

Key Stage One Guidelines

These guidelines are for Voluntary Aided church schools in the diocese of Guildford. Voluntary Controlled schools should use their locally agreed syllabus for RE; teachers may wish to look at these materials for ideas for lesson planning

These are the documents that you will need as you plan and teach the Key Stage 1 curriculum

Key Stage 1 curriculum overview
This explains where the RE learning at Key Stage 1 fits into the children's learning journey. It sets out the units that are compulsory and those that are optional

Big Ideas Booklet
This explains how the learning in each unit fits into the bigger picture of RE across the primary phase

Explaining how the unit is set out
This explains the purpose of each of the boxes on the unit plans

Beginner's guide to enquiry based learning in RE  (Coming soon)
This booklet takes you through the process of using the enquiry approach to teaching and learning in RE

Guildford Diocese pupil speak ladder of progression

Guildford Diocese statements of attainment and progression

A suggested long term plan
Schools do not have to use this but might find it helpful.

Summary of beliefs and practices of the religions studied at Key Stage One
Information for teachers

An explanation of the specialist language used in religions

What have we done with the old ASUs?
If you have taught using the ASUs in the past, this shows you where they have been used in the new guidelines

Online resources for RE
Some useful websites with resources for teaching and learning RE

Compulsory Units: Christianity

'not less than 80% should be spent on Christianity'

There are 14 Christianity units, including a Christmas and Easter Unit group.
*Units marked with an asterisk were formerly ASUs.

Where units are written for the whole key stage some of the tasks are more suitable than others for different year groups.  Teachers should select the task that is most appropriate for their current class at that time in the academic year.

Units for Key Stage One


Compulsory Units: Other faiths

'not more than 20% of RE time should be spent on studying other faiths'

There are 3 units focussing on other faiths: 2 Judaism units and 1 Islam unit