General Synod

What is the General Synod?

The General Synod is the national assembly of the Church of England, commonly referred to as the Church’s Parliament. It considers and approves legislation affecting the whole of the Church of England, authorises new forms of worship, debates matters of religious and public interest, and approves the annual budget for the work of the Church at national level.

At the national level, the General Synod has a House of Bishops and elected Houses of Clergy and Laity. The members are elected representatives from the 44 dioceses that comprise the Church of England. The latest election completed in 2015 and members serve for a period of 5 years.

Further details can be found below

Meetings of the General Synod 2015 - 2020

Information on the Meetings of the General Synod, Committees and Commissions
View >>

NCI Expense Allowances

Expense Allowances for 2015/16 (valid from 6th April 2015). Includes information on subsistence and care allowances
View >>

General Synod approves legislation that impacts on the whole Church.

Click here for contact details of General Synod members 2015-2020

Church Representation Rules

SAFEGUARDING The Diocese does not tolerate abuse of any kind. Enquiries
YOUR DATA PRIVACY View the diocesan general privacy notice and data protection policy.