General Synod By-Election 2017

The 2017 By-elections have now concluded.

Two new representatives have been elected to serve the Diocese of Guildford in the General Synod. 

Stephen Hofmeyr (laity) and George Newton (clergy) will serve until 2020, after both were elected at the second stage under the single transferable vote system. 

The results of the 2017 by-election can be viewed here

Addresses & Hustings 

The successful candidates' questions and responses from hustings will remain online for a period of two years, as well as candidates' addresses.


Chris Web Chris Ellis

Presiding Officer and Diocesan Electoral Registration Officer

01483 790303

MaryPetersWeb Mary Peters

Asst Presiding Officer & Diocesan Electoral Registration Officer

01483 790355

SAFEGUARDING The Diocese does not tolerate abuse of any kind. Enquiries
YOUR DATA PRIVACY View the diocesan general privacy notice and data protection policy.