Education Home

Diocesan Board of Education

The Guildford Diocesan Board of Education's constitution was agreed by the Diocesan Synod in 1991 in accordance with the Diocesan Board of Education Measure 1991.

Trustees and Governors of Church Voluntary Schools in the Diocese are bound by law to consult the Board before making any agreement or arrangement with the Secretary of State, the Charity Commission or the local education authority with respect to re-arrangement, amalgamation, discontinuance, sale, letting or other dealings with such schools.

The 1991 Measure has given the Board a composition significantly different from that of the Education Council which it replaced.

Chair: Rt Revd Jo Bailey-Wells
Director: ​Mr Alex Tear
Bishop's nominee: Ven Paul Davies
Bishop's nominee:  Ven Paul Bryer
Bishop's nominee:  ​Vacancy
Bishop's nominee: Mr Peter Coles
Diocesan Synod Clergy:  Rev Robert Cotton
Diocesan Synod Lay: Mr ​Michael Elson
Aldershot Deanery:  ​TBC
Cranleigh Deanery: Mr Richard Gates
Dorking Deanery:  Canon Peter Bruinvels
Emly Deanery: Mrs Alison Bateman
Epsom Deanery: Miss Merinda D'Aprano
Farnham Deanery: ​​​TBC
Godalming Deanery: ​​TBC
Guildford Deanery: ​Ms Jules King
Leatherhead Deanery: Mr Jon Prior
Runnymede Deanery: ​TBC
Surrey Heath Deanery: ​TBC
Woking Deanery: Mr Jon Hills
Co-opted:  TBC

Within this Diocese, the Diocesan Board of Education supports the following responsibilities:

  • Law
  • School Inspections
  • Personnel
  • Finance
  • Buildings
  • Governing Bodies
  • Training
  • Curriculum
  • Admission Appeals
  • School Planning
  • Insurance
  • Land Ownership

DBE Executive Committee

This is a new committee formed in September 2017.  The members are:

Chair: Rt Revd Jo Bailey-Wells
Director: ​Mr Alex Tear
Bishop's nominee: ​​​Mrs Ruth Burns
Bishop's nominee:  ​Mrs Sarah Dunning 
Bishop's nominee:  Mr Peter Coles
DBE appointed: ​Dr Clare Brunet 
​DBE appointed: Mr Michael Elson
Co-opted by Exec:  Rev Debbie Sellin
Co-opted by Exec: Mr Stephen Crabtree
Co-opted by Exec:  Mr Chris Wilkins

View the Terms of Reference for this committee

For more information about the work of the Board please contact Sarah Tickner, Tel: 01483 484900 or email

SAFEGUARDING The Diocese does not tolerate abuse of any kind. Enquiries
YOUR DATA PRIVACY View the diocesan general privacy notice and data protection policy.

“The kingdom of heaven is like a mustard seed that someone took and sowed in his field;

it is the smallest of all the seeds, but when it has grown it is the greatest of shrubs and becomes a tree, so that the birds of the air come and make nests in its branches.”

Matthew 13:31

© Copyright Diocese of Guildford 2014 – All rights reserved.